Are Agave Straws Gluten Free?


Gluten allergies, sensitivities, and celiac disease are prevalent today. As a result, many people tend to avoid foods with gluten to support their healthy lifestyle. While gluten does not adversely affect everybody, many find it to slow their metabolism or cause intestinal disruption, and eliminating it from their diet helps them feel better.

So let’s drill down on the gluten conversation and set your minds at ease.

Do Greenprint Straws Contain Gluten?

We are frequently asked whether our agave straws contain gluten, and the answer is “no.” Greenprint straws are and always have been gluten-free. They do not contain any wheat, barley, or cereals and

Greenprint straws are made with only FSC-certified plant fibers like agave, sugar cane, and wood fibers. Agave is a plant in the iris family that has no relationship to wheat or any glutenous grain. It is best known as the mother plant for alcoholic beverages like Tequila, Mezcal, and Pulque, but it also makes a popular sweetener and an alternative to refined sugar as it has a lower glycemic index.

As a sidebar, those with sugar sensitivities should not worry about products derived from cane either, as the product (though technically safe to consume) is not meant to be eaten.

What is Gluten?

We see “gluten-free” statements on many packaged foods these days. Interestingly, many such products have always been gluten-free, but being that there is much public confusion about what gluten is and where it’s found, perhaps this practice makes it easier for people to choose wisely.

There is much talk in the medical and natural health community about what gluten does to your body, but it’s not an issue for most people. Humans have been consuming gluten for thousands of years without too much trouble. Only in the past few decades, as ultra-processed foods have become staples in our diets, people have started to develop intolerances and auto-immune disorders triggered by gluten, like celiac disease.

People can also be allergic or sensitive to wheat but not other grains, which does not necessarily constitute a gluten allergy. Wheat is one of the most heavily-processed crops on the planet, so it stands to reason that it might cause adverse reactions, but choosing organic products may help avoid that.

What Products Contain Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in some grains, including wheat, barley, and rye. Wheat is present in many products, including bread and pasta, and is used in many processed foods to bind ingredients together and add texture. Oats do not contain gluten but may be processed in facilities that handle wheat and other grains so that they can be contaminated by gluten.

Aside from the grains mentioned above, you’ll find gluten in malt, brewers yeast, and

alternative wheat varieties and derivatives, such as durum, semolina, spelt, einkorn wheat, triticale, farro, farina, and wheatberries.

Common foods we eat that contain gluten include:

  • Breads
  • Pasta and noodles
  • Cereals
  • Breakfast foods (pancakes, French toast, etc.)
  • Crackers
  • Cookies, cakes, and baked goods
  • Sauces and gravies
  • Soy sauce
  • Beer
  • Croutons
  • Soups

You may also find gluten in common snack foods like French fries, potato chips, granola bars, sausages, cured meats (cold cuts, salami, etc.), and many vegetarian/vegan products.

Bottom Line: Greenprint Agave Straws are Gluten Free

In conclusion, you can rest assured our biobased agave straws are gluten-free and safe for all.

Shop our collection of compostable single-use items today.

Recommended
See All
Types of Sustainable Straws
Types of Sustainable Straws

Sustainable drinking straws are eco-friendly alternatives to traditional plastic straws. They are designed to be reusable, biodegradable, or compostable, reducing the environmental impact of single-use plastics. Eco-friendly drinking straws offer a more environmentally friendly way to enjoy your drinks while promoting a greener lifestyle. Business owners and shoppers have become more committed to adopting plastic straw alternatives due […]

Read More
Plastic bottles rubbish
Plastic Regulations in Gainesville, Florida 

As the home of the University of Florida, Gainesville is a city full of history and natural beauty. It’s vital to keep cities like Gainesville and their vast green areas free from plastic pollution so their human and animal populations can live in long-term harmony. Learn about some plastic regulations currently in place in the […]

Read More
Miami
Miami-Dade Plastic Regulations

Miami-Dade County houses world-class universities, ports, and national parks. It boasts a long stretch of stunning coastline marked by sparkling aquamarine water and beaches that millions of tourists visit annually. However, plastic pollution in urban areas affects the health of people and animals and disrupts the county’s natural beauty.  Learn about the plastic regulations that […]

Read More